Google Adds New Safety and Privacy Features to YouTube, Maps, and Google Assistant

Digital Marketing News

Google Adds New Safety and Privacy Features to YouTube, Maps, and Google Assistant

John Hayden

|

Cybersecurity

Google has introduced several new privacy features for Cybersecurity Awareness Month that give users ways to control their data privacy on Maps, YouTube, and Google Assistant.

Google Maps incognito mode

The company announced that Google Maps will now feature an incognito mode, which is set to launch on Android sometime this month, and on iOS in the near future.

“When you turn on incognito mode in Maps, your Maps activity on that device, like the places you search for, won’t be saved to your Google Account and won’t be used to personalize your Maps experience” a Google spokesperson wrote in a blog post.

YouTube history auto-deletion

You can now also auto-delete your YouTube location history and web data for a specific time period of your choosing. For instance, you can choose to store your data for three months, and then have it auto-delete after.

“Set the time period to keep your data—3 months, 18 months, or until you delete it, just like Location History and Web & App Activity—and we’ll take care of the rest.”

Google Adds New Safety and Data Privacy Features to YouTube, Maps, and Google Assistant for Cybersecurity Awareness Month.

Google Assistant commands deletion

The company is also launching a tool for Google Assistant that lets you delete recent voice commands without having to use an app. All you have to do is ask Google to delete what you asked it.

“If you ask to delete more than a week’s worth of data from your account, the Assistant will point you directly to the page in your account settings to complete the deletion. We’re rolling this out in English next week, and in all other languages next month.”

Google password checkup 

Additionally, Google is launching a password checkup feature that will be built into its password manager. Password checkup, which was released as an extension in February, will now be built into Google account controls. This feature will make it easier for users to check if their passwords have been impacted by a data breach.

“If you ask to delete more than a week’s worth of data from your account, the Assistant will point you directly to the page in your account settings to complete the deletion. We’re rolling this out in English next week, and in all other languages next month.”

Google Adds New Safety and Data Privacy Features to YouTube, Maps, and Google Assistant for Cybersecurity Awareness Month.

  • Subscribe for our newsletter!

    Fields marked with an * are required

    COPYRIGHTS DIGITAL MARKETING COMMUNITY 2019