Facebook Now Requires Users' Permission to Activate Facial Recognition

Digital Marketing News

Facebook Changes Facial Recognition Privacy Settings, Now Requiring Users’ Permission

Layla Fabian

|

Cybersecurity

Facebook is implementing new changes to its facial recognition policy. These changes are meant to tackle complaints about its facial recognition practices for photo tagging. Moreover, it’s a change that comes in the wake of a historic $5 billion fine from the Federal Trade Commission due to the Cambridge Analytica scandal.

Now, and only if you choose to opt-in to Facebook’s facial recognition option, Facebook will offer you suggestions for photos you may be in. If you approve, then those tags will be added to the photo.

Facebook Changes Facial Recognition Privacy Settings, Now Requiring Users' Permission

Facebook explains the process in a blog post. “People who still have the tag suggestions setting will begin to see a notice in their News Feed today. The notice will include information about the new features and options to learn more about how we use face recognition, along with a button to turn it on or keep it off.”

“If you do not currently have the face recognition setting and do nothing, we will not use face recognition to recognize you or suggest tags. In addition, features like Photo Review, which lets you know when you appear in photos even if you are not tagged, as long as you have permission to see the post based on its privacy setting, will not be activated. People will still be able to manually tag friends, but we won’t suggest you to be tagged if you do not have face recognition turned on. If you already have the face recognition setting, you won’t receive a notice.”

This is a sign of Facebook’s increasing awareness that it needs to present a more privacy-conscious image. Also, the public’s increasing concerns toward facial recognition technology, which can identify an individual by analyzing their facial features in images, videos, or real time.

The social network is also planning to conceal the number of likes on their posts. Developers believe that this will convince users to stop comparing themselves to others. Consequently, users will be worrying less about the low popularity of their posts.

  • Subscribe for our newsletter!

    Fields marked with an * are required

    COPYRIGHTS DIGITAL MARKETING COMMUNITY 2019